Science of the Unseen Banner


Science of the Unseen: Digital Art Perspectives brings together a group of digital artists who are united by their fascination with the complexities of scientific information which they explore in the inventive space of digital media. One might anticipate a sort of redundant uniformity in these explorations, however, in this diverse exhibition subject matter is where the similarity ends. The selected works all display a strong aesthetic, with the visual allure that entices audience while rewarding a contemplative experience. But the path is different for each artist and artist team. As a part of ACM SIGGRAPH, one of our goals is to share with our technical colleagues in computer science research the unexpected directions in digital imaging. Here they are — layers of unexpected and well executed art exploring the Science of the Unseen. We thank all of the many people who contributed to this exhibition, artists, reviewers, and volunteers. Most of all we thank Phil Gough and Lindsay Zackeroff, who shaped the exhibition with their own evolving visions and dedicated hard work.

Cynthia Beth Rubin
Chair, ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Art Community Committee

ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community Committee
Cynthia Beth Rubin, Chair
Jim Demmers
Sue Gollifer
Kathy Rae Huffman
Scottie Chih-Chieh Huang (黃 致傑)
John Hyatt
Bonnie Mitchell
Hye Yeon Nam
Janice T. Searleman

Exhibition Review Committee
Phil Gough, co-curator
Lindsay Zackeroff, co-curator
Anna Dumitriu
Kathy Rae Huffman
Helen-Nicole Kostis
John McGhee
Melentie Pandilovski
Christian Stolte
Naoko Tosa
Ousseynou Wade

Website Design and Execution
Jim Demmers
Phil Gough

Print and Graphic Design
Jeanne Criscola
Michelle Devlin
Fernando Torres Idrovo
Hye Yeon Nam

Rianti Hidayat
Hanny Lu
Fernando Torres Idrovo

Additional Thanks To
David Arredondo
Gregory Garvey

Kristy Barkan, Content Manager, ACM SIGGRAPH
Ken Bauer, System Administrator, ACM SIGGRAPH
Deborah Cotton, Copyright Permission Coordinator, ACM
Jim Kilmer and the ACM SIGGRAPH Information System (SIS) team
Stephen N. Spencer, Publications, ACM SIGGRAPH
Barb Helfer, Communications, ACM SIGGRAPH
Jeff Jortner, President of ACM SIGGRAPH